# **Parkman Township Zoning Commission**

# November 29, 2012

The regular meeting of the Parkman Township Zoning Commission was called to order at 7:00 p.m. November 29, 2012 by Carlos Nieves and seconded by Scott Villers. In attendance were Zoning Commission Members-Carlos Nieves, Scott Villers, Debbie Wilson, James Vaughan, Len Hall, and Zoning Secretary-Renee Patry. Mike Massey was not in attendance.

### **Approval of Minutes**

A motion was made by Scott Villers and seconded by Debbie Wilson to waive the reading of the October 23, 2012 regular meeting minutes and to approve the same. Motion carried unanimously. A memo from the Fiscal Officer regarding end of the year purchases and an article entitled "Change Needed on Township Area Variance Law" sent for informational purpose by the Geauga County Planning Commission were distributed to the members.

#### Old Business

- Meeting Attendance-A copy of 2012 meeting attendance was distributed to the
  members and reviewed for correction. Renee Patry-Secretary will submit this to the
  Fiscal Officer. The Board expressed concern that member Mike Massey had not
  attended any meetings in 2012. His term is due to expire in January 2013. The Board
  decided that due to lack of attendance to recommend the Parkman Township Board of
  Trustees not renew his term and consider replacement.
- Zoning Commission Minutes-Renee Patry reported that the Zoning Commission minutes starting in September 2012 have been submitted after approval and placed on the Parkman Community Web site for Community Viewing.
- Amendment 2012-1-This Amendment to the Zoning Resolution became effective November 15, 2012. It was filed with the Geauga County Recorder Office and a copy was submitted to the Geauga County Planning Commission.
- Zoning Ordinance-Updating of the Zoning Ordinance was discussed. A copy of Parkman
  Township Zoning Ordinance was obtained from the Geauga Planning Commission to
  compare with our present booklets. It was discovered that a couple of items needed
  updating, including Breezeway, and the new 2012-1 Amendment for Utility Buildings.
  These are effective prior approved items. The definition section will be cosmetically

improved as well. Renee Patry-Secretary will have the document scanned to a workable computer file and make the updates for the Zoning Commission review at their next meeting January 22, 2012. After the Boards approval, they discussed having new booklets made and a PDF file for placement on the Parkman Community Web site. Another adjustment to the Zoning Ordinance suggested by the Geauga County Planning Commission was to change the cover page title to Zoning Resolution instead of Zoning Ordinance. The Planning Commission referenced that Townships per the Ohio Revised Code adopt a "Zoning Resolution". This change was discussed and a motion to change the name of the Zoning Ordinance to Zoning Resolution was made by Scott Villers and seconded by Carlos Nieves. Motion carried unanimously.

# **New Business**

- Geauga County Planning Commission model change-Information was received from the Planning Commission regarding a change to their model resolution related to the definition of "agriculture" This was due to Substitute House Bill No. 276 effective June 4, 2012. The Board will review these changes at the next meeting.
- Internet Sweepstakes Cafes-The Geauga Planning Commission sent an informational update. On June 11, 2012 Governor Kasich signed HB 386 that places a 1-year moratorium on internet sweepstakes cafes and such operations must be registered with the Ohio Attorney General.
- Shale Gas Drilling-Informational update from the Geauga Planning Commission-Governor Kasich signed into law SB 315 regarding shale gas drilling on June 11, 2012.

### Adjournment

There will be no meeting in December. The next meeting of the Parkman Township Zoning Commission will be Tuesday January 22, 2013 when the Board plans to discuss the model changes to the definition of agriculture, and planned residential developments conservation open space. A motion was made by Len Hall and seconded by James Vaughan to adjourn the meeting at 9:00 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted, Approved,

Renee Patry Carlos Nieves

Zoning Secretary Chair